There should be an option for stopping Auto Authorisation of Purchase Order on Save..
Authorization is driven by a user profile option - 'Allow authorization of Purchase Order.'
System doesn't auto-authorize silently, user can choose to save the order w/o authorization from the message prompt.
If maker and checker are two different persons then, authorization permission can be revoked from the maker to prevent this.
You won't be notified about changes to this idea.